Geology Group*
Organiser: Peter Bennett
Return to Group List
Return to Group Diary

  Meeting   The group meets on 4th Thursday of the month.
Contact Email

News

Our next trip will be to the Manifold Valley on Thursday 26th September.  We'll be following the course of the Manifold from Ecton down to Ilam, looking out for Karst features in the landscape (including disappearing rivers) and what controls the course of the river (more mud mounds anyone?).  It's probably a good idea to bring a picnic lunch as although there are several places to get food and drink, we may not be close to them at lunchtime.

Meet in the Civic Centre car park (long stay end) at 9.30 am to share cars.

Please let me know whether you will be coming on this trip and whether you will be going straight to our first meeting point (the Manifold Visitor Centre at Hulme End).  I'll be sending out directions later.

Peter

Please see below the latest programme of events.

Programme
Date Subject Location
2019
Thursday January 24th The Evolution of Multicellular Life Origins of Mt Etna Indoor Meeting
Thursday 28th February Geology of the North Pennines Green Room at the Civic Centre
Thursday 28th March Biddulph Grange Geology Gallery Field Trip
Thursday 25th April Poise Brook and the Red Rock Fault Field Trip
Tuesday 21st to Friday 24th May Teesdale Extended Field Trip
Thursday 27th June Mam Torr and Treak Cavern Field Trip
Thursday 25th July Lud's Church Field Trip
Thursday 22nd August Clitheroe - A short geotrail to see the geology of Waulsortian Mudmounds and visit Clitheroe Castle. Field trip
Thursday 26th September Manifold Valley Field Trip
Friday 18th to Sunday 20th October Geological Association annual conference, lectures and trips Manchester
Thursday 24th October TBC Field trip
Thursday 28th November Review of the year and topical issues Indoor meeting

* This group is currently open to members of U3As in the North East Cheshire Network.